What is Video Annotation and how to set it up?

What is Video Annotation and how to set it up?

Main use:


This question type is mainly used to capture detailed scene-by-scene feedback from a video stimulus.


Participants can watch and add comments to a video and capture the moment when they feel they've seen something they liked, disliked and/or confused. They can also select emojis to represent like, disliked and/ or confused and provide reasons for their selection. 


A quick video to show how Video Annotation works on the inca chatbot 





How to set up in the platform:


1. In the Questionnaire Builder page, add a new question OR insert a new question by hovering over an existing question and clicking the green (+) button (either above or below the existing question)




2. Select Video Annotation from the popup menu that appears.


3. Write your question number or label in the upper box.

4. Edit your main question on the Question Text Box. (A sample Video annotation question is already provided but you can customize this section)  

5. Upload your video stimulus. (Note: File size larger than 80MB may take time to upload on the platform)


6. Select options: Like, Dislike, Confused. Users can change the option labels. 

7. Input the minimum number of comments that you require for your participants to answer the video.




Other Useful Question Setting

- Feedback on reaction 



When enabled, participants are prompted to write a comment or feedback after selecting a reaction (such as Like or Dislike). The video automatically pauses so they can enter their response.

When disabled, the video continues playing while participants react. This option is useful when you want reactions to happen in the moment without interrupting the viewing experience.

- Show Video Player Controls




When disabled, it will hide the player controls, including the pause button, so the video plays straight through without participants stopping it. This is useful when participants need to be prevented from taking screenshots.




To allow participants to update or change answers after submitting, toggle on Allow User Corrections.